Noob Photogate help

I am a complete NOOB. I am trying to make an affordable infrared Photogate timer to use when I teach high school physics classes. I have followed some instructions online and built a functioning system. However, I am also trying to learn new skills and would very much like to do this using XOD. I am using a TSOP 32838 IR receiver and an appropriate IR LED. I have simple patch that triggers a standard LED when something passes between the IR LED and the IR Sensor. The problem is that the whole thing doesn’t seem sensitive/responsive enough to be useful. When I built the previous version it was very responsive and accurate. Right now what I am trying to achieve is that when the ir beam is broken the LED goes off and when the beam is reestablished the the LED come back on. Eventually I will work in a timer and some math and an LCD but I want to learn one step at a time. Any help would be much appreciated. I am sure this is something super simple. image

Not sure what you are using for TSOP 32838 or how it works, but I assume TSOP-SIG is true if light is detects; otherwise false (or the inverse of that). In your code above, the flip-flop will only toggle when TSOP-SIG changes to true. This is probably NOT what you want. I think what you want is to delete the flip-flop node & just tie TSOP-SIG directly to RedLED-LUM. If the Red LED is on when you want it off & off when you want it on, then you can add a ‘not’ node between TSOP & RedLED (replacing the flip-flop node in your current code).