node-name DS3231-rtc-temp

DS3231 Real Time Clock and Temperature

Inputs

• ‘I2C’ xod/i2c/i2c
  • ‘ADDR’ byte - I2C address of the device
  • ‘UPD’ pulse - Triggers a new read

Outputs

• `DT’ xod/datetime/datetime
  • ‘TMP’ A temperature value (in Celsius)
  • ‘DONE’ pulse - Fires on successful read

The DS3231 RTC includes a thermometer so it should be possible to read this with an XOD node. I have not been able to find one anywhere. The currently available ‘xod-dev/ds-rtc’ does a good job but lacks the output for temperature.
Unfortunately I am new to XOD so am unable to figure out how to extract this data.
There are lots of C++ sample projects (Arduino) that show how to extract temperature with
a ‘int tempC = DS3231_get_treg();’ command.

Thanks,
kurt

Looks like the built-in RTC nodes should work with that hardware. They are under xod-dev/ds-rtc/ in the project browser.

Sure, if you only want the date and time. No temperature function can be collected. I can’t find a node that takes data from the ‘DT’ output and turns it into temperature string data.
There’s a node ‘unpack-datetime’ but not ‘unpack-temp’
If you can help, id be over the moon.
Thanks,
Kurt

I do have a separate DHT22 humidity/temperature sensor but when I created a XOD project with both RTC and HT the application used too much memory for an UNO. So as the RTC has temp on it might as well use it. The other option is to just use the Arduino IDE and save lots of memory.
I like XOD because it is very easy to teach my 10 year old grandson how to build his own projects. So I’m trying to persist with XOD. Maybe I need to look at the internals of the contributed nodes?