Total Newbie and not sure what to search for

Hi I haven’t programmed since old basic…
I’m just looking for some demos or samples to build a counter that can increase from a digital input.

Then when a button is pressed the counter decreases by 1, display the counter value on a 2 line display.

My ultimate goal once I learn these basic is to make a Photobooth controller. Coin mech pulse to set the credit counter which will allow the activate button look if 1 or greater then operates a relay.

Repeat until the credit has all been used.

TR

Hi, here something very basic, only that you have an idea, the accountant will do it forever, just one will be subtracted with the button

What pulse type is that. As I tried your diagram and it only subtracted the number once.

Have I got a setting wrong for it to repeat

Press button pulse-on-true decreases by 1 , if need decreases continuosly used flip-flop for enable or disable clock.

Yes but only works the once. for example 9 becomes 8… but then counts up again, but the button wont reduce the count

Is only an idea,

Given your description, this is probably exactly what you want. If someone inserts more coins, you want the credit to increase again. The only reason it keeps increasing now is because you have it connected to a clock (that never stops) instead of a coin counter.

Note that there is a subtle bug in this program that will only show up after it has been used a lot. There is a limit to how high a number “count” can hold. Once you exceed that number, it will wrap around either to zero or a large negative number and you will get a negative number displayed on the LCD. One way to avoid this is to reset both count nodes when the output for subtract is zero.

The first sample was counting but the button wouldn’t repeat its function. Does it need a repeat function

Do not take these examples as a program, they are just simple ideas of how to connect some nodes.