Help adjusting numbers

hello I was wondering if someone can help me with this one. I am trying to increase and decrease numbers from the counter start-stop using the buttons. it all works fine until I make a connection to the counter start-stop. I’m pretty sure I’m missing something simple but I’m new at this and I’m having trouble finding information to fix it. any help would be greatly appreciated. thank you.

It is not obvious what you are trying to do, or what your counter(start-stop) node is doing. I’m going to guess that counter is supposed to track where the stepper motor is currently positioned and you want to be able to run it in either direction.

The first issue is that the stepper node is going to take some time to complete. If you change counter faster than that, counter & stepper will no longer be in sync. You could disable the INC button while stepper is running using a flip-flop & gate node.

The next issue is you will need to change the counter-STEP value between positive and negative to be able to count up and down (or use nkrkv/encoder/count that has INC & DEC pins). You will also need to change stepper-N between positive and negative for the motor to move in the same direction as the counter.

There are multiple ways to change the STEP & N values. The most obvious is if-else nodes, perhaps with flip-flop that is SET or RST by buttons with output tied to if-else-COND. You could also use select nodes. A round-about way would be to use one select node to choose between +1 & -1, then multiply the value you want by the select output (probably the only advantage of this is you only have one copy of the input #, so you can’t change one copy and forget to change the 2nd copy)

I don’t know what you are trying to use the count nodes for or what the counter start/stop pins that take numbers are for, so I don’t know what else to tell you without additional information about what you are trying to do.