Reading and Programing an Angel encoder

Hi there,

I am new to programing and was learning the Arduino’s IDE and then I came across XOD and thought it will be a lot easier to learn, and I think it is but I having a hard time.

Can anyone help. I am trying to convert a rotation of the angle encoder (picture and data sheet attached) shaft into degrees. basically I want to rotate the magnet and be able to know the by how many degree I manually rotated the magnet.

I will be out putting the readings to and OLE display.

I hope someone can get me out this hole that I can get myself out of it.

I again I am completely new at programing and I know this is elementary for most people but is being a change for me and is driving crazy. I already spend many hours or days going through tutorials in YouTube without any success.

Best regards,

Victor.

OSEPP 3141 THRU 3144.pdf (143.4 KB)

Based on PDF you included, it looks like sensor grounds the output pin when magnet is present. If magnet is not present, the pin floats and needs a pull-up resistor. This is great for things like confirming windows and doors are closed, but not going to help determine the angle of your shaft. The best it can do is help you count rotations (or determine when the shaft is at “home” position).

thank you so much for the response. will a Potentiometer work for what I am need?

Depends on what you are doing with it. Few potentiometers will allow full rotation. If you only need about 270 degrees of rotation, a potentiometer might very well work. If you only need a little more than 270 degrees, you might be able to use gearing between your shaft and the potentiometer, but that still won’t give you continuous rotation. The higher the gearing (giving you more rotation), the less accurate your angle detection will be.