Making bespoke nodes more intuitive

I have been playing with XOD on and off for a while now. One of my main problems with it is the difficulty of using the “not-implemented-in-xod” node. I found that, once I got down to the nitty gritty detail of developing my programs I always ended up coding something in C++. However I am not a C++ programmer. I’m not really a programmer at all, but I have learnt a fair bit of C along the way using Arduino (and some superior tools such as PlatformIO). I have found the implementation of anything in the not-implemented-in-xod node an exercise in frustration because of my lack of understanding of C++.
What I would like to see in the not-implemented-in-xod is, instead of a straight text editor, something a bit more user friendly. Maybe several sections or windows where program text can be entered, but without the complex and confusing C++ syntax. Maybe a section for persistent data, where the various data items can be defined and optionally initialised (possibly using C syntax), which would replace the existing “State” processing. Then a section for “local data”, again with data items defined using C syntax, but where each data item must be initialised to a value, and will always have the initial value when the node is entered. This section would not include input/output variables, just local temporary variables used for calculations, temporary storage, etc. Then maybe a section that is executed only once (again C syntax) on the first execution of the node. Then a section that is executed (you guessed it, C syntax) every time the node is executed, like the “loop” section in an Arduino program.