[I want a node] Sleep and Wake for battery longevity

sleepwake

When the boolean is true, the board will go to into full sleep waiting for the condition to be false and wake up.

Inputs

• COND (boolean, default=0) — True is asleep, False is awake.

Outputs

I am a beginner. I’d like to accomplish sleep and wake, they are ying and yang, two halves of the same thing. I’ve found the sleepydog node, but seems incomplete and hard to understand without extensive background knowedge. I’m not a coder, that’s why I’m here using XOD, which is absolutely fantastic, albeit still missing some powerful nodes.

Context: I’m making an automatic chicken door opener that opens and closes with daylight. It works.
Now I need to conserve the battery because the board only needs to be awake twice a day for door movement.

The best nodes I’ve seen in XOD have been approached with an elegant simplicity for Pete, even if under the hood it’s a complex action.

I have an incline that because it’s a asleep, the patch doesn’t run, so it has to wake up through a pin going high? In which case (although a problem for waking through an LDR wether day or night), this node could receive:

Inputs

• PULSE (pulse, default=0) — Pulse that sleeps the board.
  • PORT (port, default=2) — Pin on high that wakes the board.

Surely a sleep/wake node is a big deal for projects running on battery?

1 Like

The sleepydog node is really a timer to wake up but we don’t have the same thing based on an interupt pin. e.g. pulse to sleep, and when it gets light or a PIR detects movement, wake up on that pin change.

Regarding the latter two inputs above, I’m trying to adapt this following code into this XOD node: https://github.com/RalphBacon/Arduino-Deep-Sleep/blob/master/Sleep_ATMEGA328P.ino#L1

Anyone want to help please?

Ok so I’ve tried to do this myself anyway for the benefit of anyone who cares.

This throws up errors I don’t understand.